No. 9 Mount Olive Falls To No.1 Limestone In Conference Carolinas Championship

No. 9 Mount Olive Falls To No.1 Limestone In Conference Carolinas Championship

No. 9 and second seeded University of Mount Olive fell to No. 1 and top seeded Limestone College 18-11 in the Conference Carolinas men's lacrosse Championship game. 

Mount Olive (13-4) fell behind early as Limestone (19-0) opened up the first quarter on a 4-0 run. Jacob Ball was able to stop the run with 8:10 left in the first quarter. Ball took a pass from Brett Kingston and struck for goal and Mount Olive trailed 4-1. 

Limestone's Mike Messenger extended the lead back to four with his goal with 7:53 left in the first. Kingston then went on a run of his own scoring back-to-back goals with under six and a half minutes left in the first. The Trojans went into the second quarter down by two, 6-4.

The Saints edged out the Trojans by one in the second quarter as Limestone led 10-7. The third quarter was all Limestone as a five point run pushed the lead out to 16-8 with 6:04 left. Ryan Morris stopped the run with a goal with 2:19. 

Limestone scored the final goal of the third quarter and the lead proved to be too much to overcome in the final quarter of play as Mount Olive fell.

Brett Kingston led the team with six goals and two groundballs. Skyler King led the defensive effort with four caused turnovers and two groundballs.

Following the game Luke Morris, Brett Kingston, and Ryan Morris were all named to the Conference Carolinas All-Tournament team.

Mount Olive also had nine players make the All-Conference teams. Austin Whitlow was named the Conference Carolinas freshman of the year. Matt Shields and Luke Morris were named to the first team. Brett Kingston, Austin Whitlow, Curtis McMullen, Ryan Morris, Tyler Feniello, and Ross Bowman were all named to the second team. The full conference release can be found here.