No. 50 Men's Tennis Falls To No. 27 Francis Marion - Trojans' First Loss Of Season

No. 50 Men's Tennis Falls To No. 27 Francis Marion - Trojans' First Loss Of Season

Edgar Bub defeated the No. 10 singles player in the nation, but nationally 50th ranked Mount Olive suffered its first loss of the season, falling to No. 27 Francis Marion 6-3 in non-conference men's tennis Friday at Florence, S.C. Bub became the first player in school history to defeat a national top 10 opponent.

Mount Olive (9-1) took a 2-1 lead after three closely contested doubles matches. Henric Falkenburg and Akio Mariano won 8-6 at No. 2 doubles, while Gabriel Santana and Brahm Moolman won by an identical 8-6 score at No. 3 doubles. Francis Marion (10-3) posted a 9-7 win at No. 1 doubles.

Bub took the first set 7-5 at No. 1 singles before falling 6-1 in the second set. Bub clinched the match with a 6-3 win in the third set. Falkenburg (No. 3 singles) and Mariano (No. 5 singles) both went to three sets in their matches, but Francis Marion won five singles contests to take the overall match.

The Trojans were scheduled to play at Coker Saturday, but the match was postponed due to the weather. A make-up date has not been announced.

Mount Olive is idle until next weekend when the Trojans play host to a pair of Conference Carolinas matches at Walker Tennis Center. The Trojans face Lees-McRae Friday at 2 p.m., then take on King Saturday at 1 p.m.

No. 27 Francis Marion 6, No. 50 Mount Olive 3

1. Edgar Bub (MOCM) def. #10 Alex Caspari (FMU) 7-5, 1-6, 6-3
2. Gavin Davison (FMU) def. Gabriel Santana (MOCM) 6-1, 6-1
3. Arnaud Holl (FMU) def. Henric Falkenburg (MOCM) 6-3, 4-6, 6-3
4. Eimon Heywood (FMU) def. Rik Wolthuis (MOCM) 6-2, 6-3
5. Tim Ruepke (FMU) def. Akio Mariano (MOCM) 4-6, 6-2, 10-4
6. Marius Wahlier (FMU) def. Brahm Moolman (MOCM) 6-3, 6-3

1. #12 Alex Caspari/Gavin Davison (FMU) def. Edgar Bub/Rik Wolthuis (MOCM) 9-7
2. Henric Falkenburg/Akio Mariano (MOCM) def. Tim Ruepke/Marius Wahlier (FMU) 8-6
3. Gabriel Santana/Brahm Moolman (MOCM) def. Eimon Heywood/Arnaud Holl (FMU) 8-6

Mount Olive 9-1
Francis Marion 10-3