No. 28 Men's Tennis Clinches Conference Carolinas Regular Season Title

No. 28 Men's Tennis Clinches Conference Carolinas Regular Season Title

Nationally 28th-ranked University of Mount Olive clinched the Conference Carolinas regular season title and secured an unbeaten season in conference play for the second time in school history as the Trojans posted a pair of conference wins over the weekend. The Trojans defeated Pfeiffer 8-1 Saturday at Walker Tennis Center and posted a 6-3 win Sunday at Belmont Abbey to extend their school record winning streak to 11.

Mount Olive (14-1 overall, 8-0 Conference Carolinas) captured its third regular season conference title, which includes the 2012 East Division title during the one year of divisional play. The Trojans went on to win the Conference Carolinas Tournament that year and earn a berth in the NCAA Division II Men's Tennis Southeast Regional.

The Trojans posted a 10-0 conference record in 2005 on their way to their first-ever regular season conference title. The regular season champion has gone unbeaten in conference play every year since.

Thanks to winning five matches by forfeit against Belmont Abbey, Matt Finnerty and Henric Falkenberg were the only Trojans to post wins both Saturday and Sunday. Finnerty and Falkenberg won at No. 2 doubles against Pfeiffer and at No. 1 doubles against Belmont Abbey. Both posted singles wins against Pfeiffer.

Mount Olive concludes regular season play Saturday as the Trojans play host to Wingate in non-conference action. Match time is 1 p.m. at Walker Tennis Center.

Mount Olive 8, Pfeiffer 1 (April 5, 2014)
1. Edgar Bub (UMO) def. Loic Minery (PFE) 6-2, 6-4
2. Matt Finnerty (UMO) def. Axel Woerner (PFE) 6-3, 3-6, 6-1
3. Henric Falkenberg (UMO) def. Sebastian Wernecke (PFE) 6-3, 7-5
4. Stanley Roffe (UMO) def. Jimmy Molina (PFE) 6-0, 6-4
5. Brahm Moolman (UMO) def. Stephen Miller (PFE) 6-3, 6-2
6. Lautaro Vazquez (UMO) def. Bret Williams (PFE) 6-2, 6-0
1. Loic Minery/Sebastian Wernecke (PFE) def. Edgar Bub/Rik Wolthuis (UMO) 8-6
2. Henric Falkenberg/Matt Finnerty (UMO) def. Bret Williams/Stephen Miller (PFE) 8-1
3. Brahm Moolman/Stanley Roffe (UMO) def. Orlando Castillo/Axel Woerner (PFE) 8-6

Mount Olive 6, Belmont Abbey 3 (April 6, 2014)
1. Juan Baez (BAC) def. Paul Wiederspahn (UMO) 6-3, 3-6, 10-6
2. Conner McMann (BAC) def. Rik Wolthuis (UMO) 7-6 (9-7), 6-3
3. Eduardo Escobar (BAC) def. Jack Frampton (UMO) 6-1, 6-1
4. Stanley Roffe (UMO) def. No player (BAC), by forfeit
5. Brahm Moolman (UMO) def. No player (BAC), by forfeit
6. Matheus Ribiero (UMO) def. No player (BAC), by forfeit
1. Matt Finnerty/Henric Falkenberg (UMO) def. Conner McMann/Eduardo Escobar (BAC) 8-1
2. Stanley Roffe/Brahm Moolman (UMO) def. No player/No player (BAC), by forfeit
3. Paul Wiederspahn/Matheus Ribiero (UMO) def. No player/No player (BAC), by forfeit