Alarcon Named Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis Player & Freshman Of The Year

Alarcon Named Conference Carolinas Women's Tennis Player & Freshman Of The Year

HIGH POINT, N.C. - The University of Mount Olive claimed two major honors and placed three women's tennis student-athletes on the 2019 Conference Carolinas first and third teams as announced by the league office on Thursday evening. 

Lina Maria Alarcon of the University of Mount Olive women's tennis team brought home the Freshman of the Year and Player of the Year awards at the 2019 men's and women's tennis banquet.

Alarcon earned first-team all-conference honors following a stellar season on the court for the Trojans after going 14-4 in singles (No. 2) and 13-6 in doubles (No. 1).  Romero went undefeated in conference action and closed the regular season on a 10-game win streak.  She is the first Player of the Year for UMO since the 2004-05 season when Lucia Henkle was named POY and she is the first recipient of the Freshman of the Year award for the UMO women's tennis program.

Joining Alarcon on the first team is Arianna Orozco, while Deike Schipper found a spot on the all-conference third-team.

Orozco played the No. 3 singles flight a majority of the season and collected an 11-6 record. In doubles, she partnered with Alarcon to collected a 13-6 doubles record playing the No. 1 flight.

Schipper made the all-conference third-team after going 11-7 in singles playing the No. 4 flight and went 8-10 in doubles action with partner Carmen Espinos in the No. 2 doubles flight.

The Trojans opened the conference championship against No. 5 seeded Barton and picked up a 4-1 win over the Bulldogs. They followed with a 4-1 win over the No. 1 seeded Saints of Limestone on Saturday and advanced to the Championship Match against the No. 2 seeded Lions of Emmanuel College on Sunday at 12 p.m.


"UMO is blessed to have such talented tennis players," said head coach Kevin Coghill.  "We are very excited for the individual awards we received tonight.  All of our student-athletes have worked very hard this year and it is nice to receive recognition for that.  However, our ultimate team goal is to win the tournament this weekend."

All-Conference Carolinas First Team

Lina Maria Alarcon, Mount Olive
Fantine Botella, Emmanuel
Laura Aholu, Limestone
Camille Haus, Limestone
Arianna Orozco, Mount Olive
Pauline Hagen, Converse

All-Conference Carolinas Second Team

Cynthia Carrier, Chowan
Alexandra Dolfi, Limestone
Daria Avram, Barton
Pearllan Cipriano, Emmanuel
Rachel Berkey, Erskine
Ana Chirila, Limestone

All-Conference Carolinas Third Team

Maria Raich, Emmanuel
Teagan McNamara, Belmont Abbey
Eileen Rickert, Erskine
Marie Berghaus, Erskine
Deike Schipper, Mount Olive
Luiza Souza, Erskine

Player of the Year
Lina Maria Alarcon, Mount Olive

Freshman of the Year
Lina Maria Alarcon, Mount Olive

Coach of the Year
Alan Ferguson, Limestone

Elite 23 Award
Rachel Berkey, Erskine

Regular Season Women's Tennis Champion
Limestone College